+ Reply to Thread

Thread: rough idle, 2000 golf, 1.8

Junior Member turbogolf1a is on a distinguished road

rough idle, 2000 golf, 1.8

hi,

my golf idles a bit rough when at a stop light. the rpms go from 8 - 10, then 10-8 back and forth. today i seafoamed it - although it improved pickup, did not solve the problem.

i am not good with ohm metres and stuff, i was reading that its possible to check the 4 coil packs just by unhooking 1 at a time well engine on. yes makes sense, but i just wanted to make sure that i wont screw up the engine.

so, i plan to unhook 1, put the car in drive to see if idle stabalizes, if not, hook 1 back up, and then check the 2nd. i will do this process 4 times to find the bad coilpack. i just dont totally understand engines and want to make sure its okay to unplug a coil well its in park idling, and then also that i can put the car in Drive (although i wont drive it) well a coil is unplugged.

THANKS

Member j3ttamaster is a jewel in the rough j3ttamaster is a jewel in the rough j3ttamaster is a jewel in the rough j3ttamaster's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by turbogolf1a View Post
    hi,

my golf idles a bit rough when at a stop light. the rpms go from 8 - 10, then 10-8 back and forth. today i seafoamed it - although it improved pickup, did not solve the problem.

i am not good with ohm metres and stuff, i was reading that its possible to check the 4 coil packs just by unhooking 1 at a time well engine on. yes makes sense, but i just wanted to make sure that i wont screw up the engine.

so, i plan to unhook 1, put the car in drive to see if idle stabalizes, if not, hook 1 back up, and then check the 2nd. i will do this process 4 times to find the bad coilpack. i just dont totally understand engines and want to make sure its okay to unplug a coil well its in park idling, and then also that i can put the car in Drive (although i wont drive it) well a coil is unplugged.

THANKS