+ Reply to Thread

Thread: DIY: Replacing Oil Breather Hose (MKIV 1.8T)

Senior Member TurboDub has a spectacular aura about TurboDub has a spectacular aura about TurboDub has a spectacular aura about TurboDub's Avatar

DIY: Replacing Oil Breather Hose (MKIV 1.8T)

DIY: Replacing Oil Breather Hose (MKIV 1.8T)

This guide shows how to replace breather hoses that deteriorates and gets brittle over time. It will eventually tear and leak oil vapours into your engine bay. Note that although this DIY was done using the OEM VW part, it is also possible to do so by using off the shelf parts from Canadian Tire or Home Depot. The old OEM part # may end with AB or AH. This hose has been discontinued and the new hose part # will end in BH. The new one is made by AEM and hopefully of better quality considering it is nearly twice the price of the old hose.

Note: Buy extra clamps in all sizes! It will come in handy!

Disclaimer: I am NOT a mechanic. As with any Do It Yourself guide, proceed at your own risk. Neither GenerationDub nor I are responsible for any damage you may do to your car attempting this install. If you are unsure, it is better to just go to the VW dealer and have them fix it for you than trying to fix it yourself and screwing things up.

Things you’ll need are:
    • Breather hose (VW Part #: 06A 103 221 BH): ~$83 - $93
    • Hose clamps from either VW or Home Depot: ~$0 - $0.50 each
    • Flathead screwdriver
    • Large philips screwdriver
    • Plier (vise grip works much better according to my friend)

The OEM breather hose. Note that this hose is a newer one manufactured by AEM:

1. Remove engine covers by turning the screws until they pop up.

2. If your hose is as brittle as mine, it will break right off without any resistance.

3. After removing the remains, clean the area throughly and make sure there are no broken rubber parts in the hole. Last thing you want is your engine breathing in rubber particles.